Jaguars’ Justin Blackmon Suspended Four Games

Justin Blackmon has had a rough ride to the NFL, with two arrests on his record — one during his time at Oklahoma State, and another shortly after his selection fifth-overall in 2012 by the Jacksonville Jaguars.

It seems he’s in a bit more trouble less than a year after the last incident.

There is yet no news as to why Blackmon has been suspended, but it is clear that the previous DUIs are not connected to today’s announcement.

Thankfully for Jacksonville, the run-ins with the law allowed the Jaguars to build in clauses to Blackmon’s contract that would effectively allow the team to release the troubled receiver by eliminating any guaranteed money. It’s unclear whether Jacksonville will take this out or treat the situation similarly to Tampa Bay corner Eric Wright, who’s contract was recently restructured for similar reasons.

Blackmon released this statement to the press:

“I’ve made a mistake and I have no excuse. I am truly sorry and disappointed in myself for putting the Jaguars in this situation, and I look forward to putting this behind me and maturing and growing as a person. I will have a productive training camp and pre-season with my team, and during the suspension I will work hard to stay in top football shape and be ready to help the Jaguars when I return. I have chosen to be accountable for my poor decision, and I sincerely apologize to my teammates, coaches, the front office and Jaguars fans for the impact of my mistake on the team.”

The suspension is a big blow for Jacksonville, as they’re currently sticking with over-matched 2011 first-round pick Blaine Gabbert under center heading into the 2013 season.

I simply do not see Gabbert succeeding (or even improving on the previous two seasons’ performances) with only Cecil Shorts as a starting wide out and Mohamed Massaquoi slotting in as Blackmon’s replacement. Jacksonville’s offense is one to stay away from for fantasy purposes.

Leave a Comment

